AIA MBA Joint Committee logo   spacer
About UsBest Practices GuideGlossaryHot TopicsContact UsHome
  About Us



James Kling Fellowship Award

  New construction

James Kling Fellowship Award

About the Award:
The Jim Kling Fellowship Award was established by the AIA-MBA Joint Committee to recognize those individuals who best exemplify collaboration between the design and constructor professions. These individuals, through their action and example, provide both members of the AIA and the MBA standards of excellence to strive for in an effort to bridge the gap between both sides.

The Nomination:
To qualify for the Jim Kling Fellowship Award, the recipient must be a member or employed by a member of either the AIA Pittsburgh Chapter or the Master Builders' Association of Western Pennsylvania. The individual must maintain high standards for their profession and must display an effort to foster a community spirit amongst the design and constructor professions. The Jim Kling Fellowship Award is presented under the direction and unanimous vote of the Joint Committee. Individuals must be nominated by the opposite profession. Nominations are to be submitted in writing, stating how an individual has displayed efforts in bridging the gap between the design and constructor professions.

The Winners:
2009 - Ted Frantz, TEDCO Construction
2010 - Tom Murphy, Jendoco Construction Corporation
2011 - William English, AIA, Valentour English Bodnar & Howell
2012 - Pat Navarro, Navarro Corporation
2013 - Luke Desmone, AIA, Desmone & Associates Architects
2014 - Angelo A. Martini, Sr., A. Martini & Co.
2015 - Richard "Dick" Rittelmann, FAIA, Burt Hill Kosar Rittelmann Associates
2016 - Joseph A. Massaro, Jr., Massaro Corporation
2017 - Albert Filoni, MacLachlan, Cornelius & Filoni Architects
2018 - Jack Mascaro, Mascaro Construction Company, LP
2019 - Chuck Parker, AIA, Stantec
2020 - Steven Bishop
2021 - George Ehringer, AIA
2022 - Clifford R. Rowe, Jr., PJ Dick Incorporated
2023 - Martin E. Powell, The Design Alliance Architects



About Us | Best Practices Guides | Glossary | Hot Topics | Contact | Home
© 2023 AIA MBA Joint Committee